The 2024 Pukekohe Young Grower of the year competition will be held on Friday, 17 May 2024

The 2023 Pukekohe Young Grower of the Year competition was held on Friday, 19 May.

The competition is open to both commercial fruit and vegetable growers from the Pukekohe region. Contestants will be tested on a range of theoretical and practical modules designed to test their horticultural skills and knowledge. The gala dinner will round off the day's activities with speeches from each contestant and the announcement of the 2023 Pukekohe Young Grower of the Year winner. 

This years winner, Taylor Leabourn, will go on to represent Pukekohe in the Young Grower of the Year National Final on 4-5 October 2023 in Pukekohe. 

Young Grower Pukekohe organiser:
Further event information can be found here https://www.pygoty.com/ and queries regarding this competition should be directed to pukekoheyounggrower@gmail.com


Competition venue: La Valla

131 Dominion road, Tuakau, 2121

Email for more information

Gala dinner venue: La Valla

131 Dominion road, Tuakau, 2121

Email to buy gala dinner tickets


2023 Pukekohe contestants

Jia Teo 2

Jia Teo

Agronomist - Woodhaven Gardens

Rajpreet Singh 2

Rajpreet Singh

Business Development Manager - Dhindsa Farm Ltd

Zachariah Stelts 2

Zachariah Stelts

Glasshouse Technician - T&G

Jana Bhana 2

Jana Bhana

Machinery Operator - Hira Bhana

Myles Fong 2

Myles Fong

Crop Production Manager - Desloe Produce Ltd

Chris Lowe 2

Chris Lowe

Orchard Manager - Punchbowl

Taylor Leabourn 2

Taylor Leabourn

Agronomist - Leaderbrand

Kate Miln 2

Kate Miln

Assistant Grower - Gourmet Waiuku Ltd